British Cheese Week

As I was browsing the blogs I usually read on a pretty regular basis, I discovered that 27 September – 5 October is British Cheese Week. Apparently, it’s a nationwide effort to promote British cheeses.

I had no idea there were so many cheeses made in Britain!! Fifteen different Blue cheeses alone. Sixty-two other kinds. Here in the US we have our old standby, processed cheese. Hooray!

I like some British cheeses. I like Cheddar (which, no matter what anyone says, is a British cheese). I like Red Leicester. Unfortunately, the former is not sold in the US. The concept of having a week to promote British cheeses is a good one, however, they should extend it beyond being a nationwide effort. Go international! Express to these idiotic cheese sellers here in the US how important it is to sell Red Leicester here.

One thought on “British Cheese Week

Leave a Reply

