Brain Fog

I love everything about the UK. Obviously, or I wouldn’t have this blog. I have been endeavouring to learn as much as I can about the history of each of the countries that make up the United Kingdom. Most of it is straightforward, but for the life of me, whenever it comes to understanding how the monarchy works, I can’t quite wrap my head around it.

For instance, this morning I was attempting to search for the surname of Queen Elizabeth via Google and decided to follow the link to her Wikipedia entry. Unfortunately my search must go on beyond Wikipedia, but it took a detour as I read over the context part of the entry. In addition to holding the royal title of queen, she is also Duke of Lancaster and Duke of Normandy. I thought that was a gross error on someone’s part because she’s female and should be a Duchess if she holds any additional titles. So I followed the links in the Wiki article to discover “The Sovereign is styled as Duke of Lancaster, regardless of gender, although it is an honorary title and a royal style.” (Wikipedia) and “The Queen is Duke of Lancaster and Duke of Normandy. The first Duke of Lancaster was John of Gaunt, son of King Edward III (reigned 1327 – 1377) who passed a law that the title should be held by him and his family separately from the Crown. The title is mainly used by way of a loyal toast, which takes the form, ‘The Queen – Duke of Lancaster’.

The Queen also has the title Duke of Normandy by virtue of her position with regards to the Channel Islands, which are the last remaining lands of the ancient Duchy of Normandy. The islands are responsible to The Queen in Council (advised by the Home Secretary) and not to Parliament.” (Royal Insight)

Just when I think everything is so straightforward when it comes to understanding the monarchy, they go and throw something like this into the mix. Maybe someday I’ll understand it all…

Leave a Reply

