Ireland 1, Scotland 0

Over the holidays I had occasion to try whisky for the first time. The real stuff. Not the crap distilled here in the US.

On the Ireland side, I had a taste of Jameson Irish Whiskey. I’m still trying to figure out why this one is spelt the American way, but that’s beside the point. The taste was definitely smooth with a kick at the end for the alcohol. Very good. I’d drink it again.

On the Scotland side, I had a taste of Lagavulin. It’s a single malt Scotch Whisky. A dear friend sent me a small bottle when she and her husband took a weekend trip to the Isle of Islay. Apparently distilling whisky is their “thang” there on the Isle.  It’s known as the Queen of the Hebrides. Do you sense what I’m doing here? Talking about everything but the whisky…? That’s because I didn’t care for it. It tasted like cough medicine gone bad. Ugh. I’m sorry. It was just bad.

Now I’m not saying that I will love every Irish Whisky I drink and hate every Scotch Whisky I drink. It’s just with the two tastes I’ve had over the holidays, the Irish seem to be winning.

4 thoughts on “Ireland 1, Scotland 0

  1. Now dear … there are two types of Jameson and one is fowl and the other is velvet… I can’t remember which is which … and a for Scots types … thers more types than a crow has feathers and some are nice and others are vile … I remember trying one on the Royal Mile given to me by a member of Clanna Drumma… yak … and I thought he liked me …

  2. Well I must’ve had the velvet Jameson because it was divine. 😛 And I know there are plenty of other Scotches out there, but my first one was a yak-er. 😛

  3. Okay after looking at the site again, these are the types of Jameson:

    Irish Whisky (what I had)
    Rare Vintage Reserve
    Gold Reserve
    Signature Reserve
    Special Reserve
    Limited Reserve

    Good to know the cheapest of them all is what I like best. I think I’ll stick with that.

  4. Just looked the Islay one up!
    Tiz described as “peaty”
    To me “peaty” is definitely an acquired taste.
    Don’t give up, as SE says..there are more Malts than a crow has feathers.
    Two that are really good are Edradour and Old Pultney.
    Although Talisker is a nice malt…..it is not the only whisky produced on Skye, tiz the only one bottled there! No-one grows the grain to be made into whisky there any more.
    The speeling….I don’t know why, but if your whisky has an E in it…it is from Irish origins.
    Also, tiz ok to call a native of Scotland a Scot, but NEVER Scotch…as that is the drink!

Leave a Reply

