Understanding Language

A few weekends ago, our local library had a booksale. My friend really wanted to go and as she has no car, I drove her over. While I didn’t really have any titles in mind to look for, I still looked through their offerings, just in case. Well, I’m happy to say that I did find a book I couldn’t resist buying. Especially as it was selling for $2.50 (£1.67) when it would normally sell for about $12.95 (£8.67).

While I have plenty of friends in the UK and can ask them at any given time what a certain word means, I couldn’t resist adding to my collection of books about Great Britain. I think this book is also a worthy investment because there are areas of the country with words that might not be familiar to my friends.

Thus far the only drawback I’ve found in this book is that they don’t fully explain any rhyming slang. For instance, I started scanning the As the other day and found an entry for ‘Alfred Davy’ which is indicated to be slang for affidavit, but in my natural curiosity, I want to know what ‘Alfred Davy’ rhymes with. Of course none of the sites that I look up on Google list it to tell me what it means. So I’m left wondering because my own copy of the little British Slang dictionary I own is at home.

Maybe someone will have pity and tell me?

Leave a Reply

