British Stereotypes

After many years of neglect, I finally picked up a book by Elizabeth George from our local library. I knew her books are set in England, but I never realised she’s an American writer. That’s not to say I don’t think she’s capable of writing books set in another country, as I myself am working on something set in England.

So the first book I got was her first written, A Great Deliverance, and I’m in the middle of reading it when I had a conversation with my friend Jean about it. There is an American couple featured in the story and I noticed how George portrays them as loud and obnoxious, so I asked Jean if that’s how most Brits perceive Americans. She said yes, but assured me that she didn’t think of me in that way. (I should hope not, since we’ve met in person and I’m neither loud nor obnoxious.)

Imagine my surprise, then, when I was glancing through comic strips on Yahoo just a moment ago and discovered a comic highlighting one of our own stereo-types about Brits:

Yes, we all believe that Brits with posh accents are more intelligent than we are. Then again, I personally believe that any American who speaks properly (with or without an accent) is intelligent.

2 thoughts on “British Stereotypes

  1. I loooove British accents! And yes, I’m afraid I do find myself thinking someone sounds smarter if they have a certain accent. Smarter. And sexier. Wooohoooo!

  2. Don’t worry! There are so many UK residents who make the archetypal USA tourist look placid! At least USA tourists aren’t predominantly orange and covered with tatoos!

Leave a Reply

