British Cooking 101

Last Friday morning, I made my first attempt at cooking something quite British and quite simple, but in the end it was a big fat FAIL.

I was going to visit a friend to drop off some books before she was to go out of town on Saturday. So when I texted her about it earlier in the week, she said to let her know when I would be arriving and she’d have a pot of tea on. On Thursday I decided to (finally) make scones for the first time. I’ve had a mix for ages, but never did anything with it. So I woke bright and early on Friday morning, ready to bake scones and impress my friend.

Pffft!

I mixed everything, rolled out the dough as best I could sans rolling pin and managed to cut 9 scones using a small cup. Everything was going according to plan. I popped them into the oven and waited the requisite 12 minutes that the directions stated and pulled out 9 very flat scones. I had somehow skipped over the part where I was supposed to let them set for 10 minutes to rise.

They were quite edible, mind you, and my friend was gracious enough to humour my poor cooking skills, but I had hoped to do better. If I can’t master scones, how the hell will I ever achieve Yorkshire pudding greatness?

Luckily I’m not one to give up easily. A while back I found an English Tea Store online and returned there Friday evening to order more mix and some other goodies besides. When my friend returns from her trip, we will try again!!

2 thoughts on “British Cooking 101

  1. you NEVER roll scone dough out.They should not need to “rise” before baking. Try looking at the scone recipe on Bero site. If you follow that recipe and don’t roll….nevere ever roll them…even using a mug as a cutter shouldn’t mess them up.

  2. When I say I rolled it out without a rolling pin, I mean I pressed it out with my fingers/hands as best I could. I guess I should’ve said that.

    As far as whether or not it should rise, that’s what the packaging said. It’s Greens Classic Scone Mix. I have since purchased new mix of a different brand and they don’t seem to indicate rising is necessary.

Leave a Reply

