Triple Crown vs. Royal Ascot

Last Saturday (5 May) was the first horse race in the Triple Crown event here in the United States. First is the Kentucky Derby held each year in Louisville, Kentucky at Churchill Downs Race Course. The next race is the Preakness Stakes in Baltimore, Maryland at Pimlico Race Course. The third, and final, race is the Belmont Stakes in Elmont, New York at Belmont Park.

These races are the most prestigious races and the aim is usually to win all three races by one horse. As of this writing, it has been 34 years since a horse called Affirmed won in 1978. In the roughly 137 year history of these races, only 11 horses have won all three races.

I never care about horse racing any other time of year, but I love watching these three races. It finally occurred to me that I like watching them because they are the nearest thing we have to the Royal Ascot. Although I cannot recall with any accuracy about the Preakness and the Belmont, but I know that at the Kentucky Derby, big hats are worn by the ladies, same as at the Royal Ascot. Since I cannot view any racing for the Royal Ascot, the Triple Crown (or Run for the Roses as it’s also known) is the next best thing for me.

Here’s to I’ll Have Another, this year’s winner of the Kentucky Derby and this year’s Triple Crown contender.

Leave a Reply

