BBC GoodFood American Style

I subscribe to BBC’s GoodFood newsletter that arrives in my Inbox every few weeks and I created an account on the site so I could save some of the recipes featured in a virtual binder. I have to admit that I was amused when I opened the newsletter I received on 16 May and found the highlighted recipes to be all American. I love to see how other people recreate foods that are typically American.

Blueberry Pancakes topped the list.

Shirred eggs with spinach and jalapeños was next. This is not a dish I have ever heard of, but it does sound appealing, minus the jalapeños, of course. I asked around to my friends since I have friends spread around the country. It was an even split between those who had at least heard of shirred eggs and those who hadn’t.

Bacon & parsley hotcakes finished off the list of American breakfast foods. This is also an unknown to me and only one of my friends has even heard of it.

The lunch/dinner items were a little more familiar, if not called the same thing.

I had to do a search to find out exactly what salt-beef was for the club sandwich featured. This I’ve had before, but I know it better as Corned beef. Nor have I ever had a club sandwich quite the way GoodFoods made it with avacado and radishes. The Cajun fries on the side were just homemade chips that were sprinkled with a generic Cajun spice. Perhaps I can have my friend over there find some of this Cajun spice and send it over so I can compare it to what we sell here in Cajun country.

The ultimate burger they feature is definitely a completely British concoction. The specific recipe featured is one from John Torode and he’s not even American! Granted, there are restaurants around the US who create some bizarre burger monstrosities, generally speaking they are not the norm and I wouldn’t consider them typically American.

Seafood chowder is next on the list and I’m sure the inspiration for this comes from New England, but we have our own variations on it here in New Orleans.

For the New York Cheesecake recipe, I find it amusing that digestive biscuits are called for in the part of the recipe for the crust. Here in the US, we use graham crackers turned into crumbs. Although I’m quite sure that digestive biscuits are a suitable replacement, the mere name of these poor edibles conjures up strange mental images for Americans.

Leave a Reply

