XXX Olympiad Thoughts

Well, it’s come to the end of day 4 of the competitions for the London Olympics and I have been pleased with what I’ve seen so far.

Last night I stayed up til 11 watching Team GB’s men’s gymnastics win a silver medal only to have it snatched away by the bloody Japanese whose one guy (who is in serious need of a haircut) had a crappy dismount from the pommel horse. Their coach went whinging to the judges and damn if those judges didn’t listen to the whinging! No matter how much you slow the video down, the kid was NOT completely vertical at any point during his horrible dismount. I know I am offended on their behalf for no reason as GB’s men have never won a medal of any kind for gymnastics, but in my opinion, they deserve silver, not bronze.

I was also quite pleased to be able to see archery for the first time as well. The television network here in the US which has exclusive rights to air Olympic events – NBC – while improved in its coverage is still sorely lacking. It owns a total of 5 cable channels (I get only four) and on at least two of them the coverage was spotty at best. Aside from the main network, MSNBC had the most coverage and it was on that channel that I saw the archery. I also spotted an article on Yahoo! about how some computer savvy Olympics fans have gotten around not being able to view much online. Since I am moderately savvy I think I might have to investigate, because I cannot envision the three sports I want to see most – rhythmic gymnastics, trampolining and synchronised swimming – being shown on any of NBC’s affiliates. 

Those are my thoughts for the moment.

Leave a Reply

