Peter Rabbit

The World of Beatrix Potter is a shop in Gloucester.

One of the highlights of my trip to England in 2010 was visiting the Lake District home of the wonderful Victorian author, Beatrix Potter. Hill Top is an old farmhouse situated in Near Sawrey, Ambleside in Cumbria.

For those of you who don’t know much about Miss Potter, she penned 23 tales of Peter Rabbit and his friends as well as additional books for children. The 2006 film starring Rene Zellwegger and Ewan McGregor details her childhood and early adulthood when she first began writing. I presume that the estate of Beatrix Potter was accepting of the film as it is sold nearly everywhere around Near Sawrey, including at the gift shop of Hill Top.

With the monies made from the sale of her books, Beatrix purchased first Hill Top, then other surrounding land and buildings. Later in life she turned to raising sheep and upon her death, she donated all property and 4000 acres of land to the National Trust, of which she was one of the founding members.

(As an aside, I joined the American branch of the National Trust a few years before 2010, called the Royal Oak Foundation.  As a member of the ROF and therefore the National Trust, I was able to visit Hill Top free of charge.)

All of this is leading up to my point, believe it or not. This morning, as I was driving to work, I heard a radio interview with the actress Emma Thompson. The interview was about her invitation from the publishers of Beatrix Potter’s books to continue the story of Peter Rabbit. I was overjoyed to hear that Ms Thompson agreed and The Further Tales of Peter Rabbit  has been published. I am not sure if it’s available here in the US as yet, but I’m sure it will be soon. I will definitely grab a copy to sit on my bookshelf along side a copy of The Tales of Peter Rabbit which I bought in 2010.

Leave a Reply

