The Spotted Dick

20140329_183541So, after watching a video wherein someone tried Spotted Dick for the first time (please don’t ask how I came to be watching that type of video), I decided it was time to try it myself. There’s a retail chain here in the US called World Market, where as you might imagine, they sell food stuffs from around the world. I bought 2 cans of Heinz’s Spotted Dick and one can of Devon custard. I make the sponge pudding last night and everyone in my family had a taste. I find it to be a tasty, if rich dessert.

One thing that puzzles me is why it’s called a pudding. It’s nothing like a Yorkshire pudding and certainly nothing like what we in the US call pudding, so what gives? Please enlighten me if you can.

Leave a Reply

