Royal Mail

I am not one to usually complain about services in a country in which I do not live, but I’m going to have a little rant here because of how my friend said the issue would likely be addressed.

My friend and I are currently communicating the old fashioned way of putting pen to paper because her computer died and she is low on finances at the moment to get it repaired or replaced. This is fine with me as I still enjoy writing. However, the last letter I received from her was completely torn in two, with an additional tear on the left side about an inch and a half long. It is my belief that my friend should be able to file some sort of complaint and at least get the postage refunded to her, but she thinks the response would be that as long as the letter was deliverable, there would be no refund forthcoming.

Sitting here thinking about it, I’m sure the US Postal Service would have the same response. We’re sorry we damaged your mail, but hey you should be thankful you were able to receive it. And at least Royal Mail took responsibility for the damage this time; the letter arrived in a clear Royal Mail baggy, so we know who is at fault. The tricky thing with regular mail from two countries is if something is well and truly damaged – like a ceramic mug – each side points the finger at the other.

Hooray for customer service!

Leave a Reply

