Accents

I am utterly entranced with accents, fascinated by language itself. It’s evolving almost daily and yet I find myself bucking some of these trends because I see these particular changes as dumbing down our communication abilities. Of course having traveled to the UK three times, I’ve been immersed in various English accents and it’s like music to my ears. Admittedly, I have great difficulty with the accent of the far north in England, right up near the Scottish border. The blend of the two accents is a bit jarring rather than lyrical. During my second visit to England in 2008, I had a brief visit with an acquaintance from that part of the country and I am shamed to admit that I had to ask her to repeat what she said more often than I think I should have.

Of course being an American, someone whose ancestors came from England and with whom we share a basic language, I’ve always been curious about how our accents became so decidedly different. Someone shared a video about this very subject on a forum that I belong to and it’s interesting to learn that prior to the 1800s, we sounded more alike than different. The second video is one I found after watching the first one. I love James May. 🙂

Leave a Reply

