Castle Remains Found Under Gloucester Prison

As my dear friend said, “Not altogether surprising.” Which, of course, it’s not, but I still get excited when new discoveries are made. Especially when I still have the mindset that most everything has been discovered that’s there to be discovered in the whole of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. I love that I found this trending on my Facebook news. THAT was a thrill for me.

More details have been revealed about the castle ‘similar to the Tower of London’ which lies beneath the basketball court at Gloucester prison.

The keep walls of the Norman castle have been found underneath the basketball court with other sections of the castle expected to be under other buildings at the site.

The castle dates back to 1110 and was found by archaeologists who are investigating the site ahead of a new development on the site.

Chief Executive of Cotswold Archaeology, Neil Holbrook, said: “I am surprised by what we found; I knew there was a castle but I had expected more of it to have been destroyed.”

Full story

Leave a Reply

