History of the Fry Up

With all due respect to Somerset Maugham, who believed that to eat well in England meant eating breakfast three times a day, I don’t think I could handle a full English breakfast three times a day. The last time I was in England, my dear friend I was staying with prepared a full English breakfast for me one morning and I didn’t touch another crumb of food until dinner.

For those of you who have never had a full English breakfast, it consists of the following:

  • two eggs (scrambled or fried)
  • two sausage links
  • a piece of bacon (UK bacon is a far cry from what the US calls bacon)
  • two slices of toast (or fried bread)
  • baked beans
  • half of a tomato, fried
  • sauteed mushrooms
  • black pudding

full-english-breakfast

History of the Full English Breakfast

Leave a Reply

