Tea and Me: Darjeeling

15879154_1242595312492086_1239568804_nYesterday I tried Darjeeling for the first time. I have to admit to being surprised by it. I’m not really sure what I expected from it, but I definitely did not expect it was a black tea. Now, most of the time if I have black tea, I add milk, in the proper English fashion. However, there are some exceptions to the rule and Darjeeling is one of them. It was a light golden brown and as the packaging states, it had a light taste.

So here’s a bit about Darjeeling: it comes from a different plant than the more common black tea that we all drink. It is made from the small-leafed Camellia sinensis,  whereas the more common black teas are from the larger-leafed Assam. Darjeeling is named for the Darjeeling district in West Bengal, India that it comes from and while black tea is the most popular version, green and oolong varieties are becoming more popular and readily available. All this time I thought Darjeeling was another type of tea, like green, oolong and the others. 

I will definitely be drinking this again.

Leave a Reply

